PDEC held it’s 74th Annual Meeting

by Pee Dee Electric Cooperative

PDEC Lineman

At the Florence Civic Center on Saturday, October 26th, 2,269 members received a $20 energy voucher by registering and participating in the business of their cooperative.  The business meeting included the annual address by President & CEO Toy Nettles, followed by prize drawings for over $3,000 in cash and gift cards, electric bill credits, and the grand prize, a 2006 GMC Canyon 4×4 Crew Cab pickup truck.  Three members of the Board were re-elected to four-year terms, Louise “Floogie” Kelley, District 4, Don Teal, District 7, and Jule Conner, District 9.

Prior to the business meeting, the cooperative continued its grassroots campaign to encourage the EPA to continue its “all-of-the-above” energy strategy and promoted the www.action.coop website.  The SC State Election Commission along with County Election Commissions provided voter services including taking photos for voter picture ID’s, and a free health fair staffed by McLeod Health was enjoyed by many.

In his address to the membership, President & CEO E. LeRoy “Toy” Nettles expressed his appreciation to the best members in the nation.  He explained that the cooperative works hard to provide not just power, but the power of giving; giving good service, giving comfort and information, giving capital credits, giving opportunity through economic development, giving back to our communities, and giving a bright future to the Pee Dee Region.  He continued explaining that PDEC takes its non-profit status very seriously, and that is what allows it to send back capital credit checks.  “Pee Dee Electric has paid capital credit checks every single year for 38 years, totaling more than $74 million”.

PDEC was established to provide dependable and reliable electric service at the lowest possible cost.  Because of Good Business Practices and being Financially Sound, Pee Dee Electric Cooperative is ranked as one of the top elec­tric cooperatives in the nation.

Pee Dee Electric, a Touchstone Energy Cooperative, is a member-owned electric distribution cooperative and serves more than 30,000 members in Darlington, Marion, Florence, Dillon, Lee and Chesterfield counties.